CHEWIE

( renamed from Bobby as this little chap looks totally like Chewbacca)

 

** NO MORE APPLICATIONS PLEASE **

FOR ADOPTION IN CORNWALL/DEVON

CHEWIE -  Long Haired Pekingnese Cross 

 

Size: 25 - 30 cm shoulder height approx (about the size of a small spaniel)

Sex: male

Age: 1-2 years approx (even though his passport states nearly 3 which is an estimate)

Neutered: yes

Vaccinated: yes

Microchipped: yes

Temperament: friendly / total cuddle monster / food orientated (especially cheese! but virually anything will do haha) / very smart/ cheeky / food guarder with dogs / very lively and playful with quite high energy levels / puppy behaviour, eg mouthing, play nipping, bouncing around / needs lots of time and attention eg to teach him obedience training and boundaries, guide him and keep up with regular grooming / wary of traffic but not really scared 

Child friendly: Chewie is highly likely to accidentally inflict injury as he is quite unruly and willful, hence no young children please. Ideally no children or older children 16+ who know how to respect a dog's boundaries and have had experience with rescue dogs before. 

Dog friendly: yes and would love to live with another playful dog (not too old) who would be a good role model and play mate for Chewie which would be perfect for him

Cat friendly: not tested, but has the tendency to chase anything small that moves on land or air, especially birds and other small furries, eg squirrels and would most likely love to chase and pounce on a feline even if it was just in excited play. It moves - Chewie runs after it with gusto!

Behaviour/Training needs: Chewie knows pretty much nothing and is like a puppy, but he has learned to sit and we have started lead training with him which is totally new to the little guy. Our time is limited sadly, hence his adopters would have to put effort into training this little guy.

Housetrained: yes, Chewie is very clean here. However, he shares a doggy room with 2 other dogs outside of our main house which is not the same as home life. Initial accidents during the settling in period may or may not happen.

Bloodtested: tested negative for heartworm, ehrlichia, lyme disease and anaplasmosis before travel and passed his general health check here at our clinic in Launceston on 30th March 2021.

Location: Cornwall

 

Current Location: Launceston Cornwall 

 

Hello, my name is Chewie. I was renamed from Bobby after they met me with all my fur fully grown back and I looked like Chewbacca. Everyone who meets me says I do and I think it's the perfect name for me.  OK, about me a bit more... I am a happy bundle of fur and I would like to tell you my story. I was found just by chance when this lovely man called Bojan was called to collect some stray dogs in the area. He picked me up too as I would have not survived out there on my own. I can’t remember how I ended up abandoned, but to make me safe and give me a chance of being chosen I was put in a busy shelter called The Bark Ark and it’s pretty scary in there for a little guy like me. One day I was taken out and put in a safe area where I lived on a long chain with a dog house for shelter, surrounded by dogs like me. You may think that this is a bad thing, being on a chain, but here in the shelter it’s actually really good because I was safe now from the bigger dogs and I had my own food which nobody could steal away any longer,  plus I had a warm hut all to myself too. Yes, so here I was waiting for my chance. To my surprise and joy I was told that Paws2Freedom in the UK had stepped up for me and will find me my very own forever home in Cornwall/Devon.

This is where I am right now and having fun until my very own forever home comes along. I would love to live in a home with a large garden where I can charge around like a mad thing and play to my heart's content. A canine brother or sister as my role model and play friend who can keep up with me would be amazing.

I am not terrified of traffic, but finding it a bit daunting hence living in a semi rural or rural setting would make me happiest as I don't really think I would like living in a town much.

I love people and other dogs, but am very boisterous. Life is just one big adventure for me and I wish I could grab all of it in every minute of the day. My zest for life is far bigger than my fluffball body! They say I am a handful and I guess I am. I may not calm for quite some time yet, hence I would prefer to live with someone who will be able to keep up with my needs for many years ahead. I am only young and will enjoy my life for another 15 years or so.

I can be left on my own for a few hours and while I wait I love a Kong or other food toy to keep me occupied until I doze off for a while. I don't mind much being in a crate if I have my Kong, but prefer to be outside a crate if I am really honest. 

Food is one of my passions. I love it, love it, love it! But I can get protective over it so if there is another doggy it would be best to keep us separate at meal times. 

And cuddles - I soooo love those. Attention in general is my thing. I am a bit of a me - me -me doggy which is part of my charm, but has to be kept in check. Basically, I need boundaries and consistancy. 

My favourite game is that of a game of chase. Toys or small furries and even birds and off I am loving every second of it. I met some sheep here and also horses. Found them a bit daunting, but did not bark at them. They are ok, but not good for me as play mates. 

I have not been at P2F long, but I have learned to sit and walk to heel a bit more... well sometimes... but my attention span isn't big and life is just so exciting and so much to explore, hence I often forget myself and push ahead like a steam train over- eager to check out a scent or something I see.

I love to say hello to people and other dogs and I jump up a lot in my enthusiasm. Life is just one big adventure and I love it.

 

I have been introduced to toys here too and at first I didn't know what they were or what to do with them. But my inquisitive nature got the better of me and now I am happy and eager to play with all sorts of toys. I do love squeaky toys the most. They are so much fun! 

Please enjoy my photos below. They are fun like me. There are a few of me when they took me out of the shelter to a safe area where I stayed until transport. I look a bit dishevelled there, but still really cute if I may say so myself.


If you would like to support me a bit I would be ever so grateful. If you could mark your kind giving with ‘Chewie’ then your funds will be put towards my food, gear & vet costs while I am at Paws2Freedom.

And if you would like to apply for giving me my forever home please complete an application form as a first step. But please bear in mind that I am advertized on other sites too and I hope that you understand that there may be more than one application to my name by the time you have completed yours for me. 

 

Thank you so much from my little heart and fluffy paws ~ Love, Chewie ♥

1/52

We also welcome your giving via BACS or Standing order to our charity bank account

 

Barclays Bank

Paws2Freedom

43627527 account number

20-50-40 sort code

For international Payments

SWIFTBIC BUKBGB22

IBAN GB24 BUKB 20504043627527